Key icon menu

Use the key icon menu to quickly navigate to any of the key functions.

Comments - Team work involves discussion on particular keys. Once you leave a comment to the key, it is automatically e-mailed to people, who have the same contribution rights on the languages as you.

Copy link to clipboard - If it is required, you can copy a link to a particular key.

Duplicate this key - You can duplicate a key using this option.

Google-translate empty values - Lokalise offers you the Google-translate feature to translate empty values in a selected key.

Hide from contributors - If it is required, you can hide a key from contributors/translators.

Delete key - Delete a key with all translations. You can not undo key deletion.

Screenshots - Link screenshots to the key. Read below to learn more about the screenshots manager.

Key editor

To access Key editor, click the key name itself. Read below to learn more about the key editor.

Link platforms

Lokalise supports four platforms – iOS, Android, Web and Other. Assigning a key to one or multiple platforms actually means that this file will get exported to file formats, associated with the platform, i.e. assigning a key to iOS platform means it would get included with Apple Strings and Apple Xliff file exports, but would not get exported with JSON export (as it belongs to Web platform).

Each key can be attributed to a single filename per platform. You can set the attribution using Key editor (click key name in the editor, then navigate to Advanced tab).

Tags

Use the built-in tagging of the editor to logically group your keys. Click the tag icon and either enter a new tag, or select from a list of tags you have already added.
Learn more about tags.

Spelling/grammar error

Lokalise automatically checks spelling and grammar in the editor as you upload or update strings. In case the spelling or grammar error is found, a small icon will appear in the right side of the translation. Learn more about Spelling/grammar check.

Mark as reviewed

Users with the reviewer role enabled can mark translations as reviewed in the editor and approve any translations.

Unverified

Unverified flag is used to mark a translation that you do not consider 100% correct.

Translation History

Translation history keeps all versions of each translation update you have ever made.
Learn more about the translation history.

Key editor

To access the Key editor, simply click the key name in the editor. Please note, this option is available only to project admins and can be turned off globally in the project settings.

General options

  1. Name your key.
  2. The base language value is the text which you want to translate.
  3. Different platforms have different export formats. Keys can be assigned to multiple platforms. More info...
  4. A description can be used to help project contributors to understand the context.
  5. Add existing tags or create new ones for filtering or export.
  6. Turn on to keep the dialog window open after you click Save button. It can be useful when adding multiple keys in a row.
  7. Pre-fill key with this pattern after you save.
  8. Click Save button or press Ctrl+Enter to apply changes.

Advanced options

  1. Turn on if this key requires plural forms. Lokalise would automatically add required plural forms to each language. Read more... 
  2. Optionally, each key can be assigned to one filename per platform.
  3. Turn on to hide this key from contributors.
  4. Context is used with some file formats (e.g .po). There is no need to add context if you are not using it in the code.
  5. Set the character limit. This feature prevents from saving longer translations.

Custom attributes

Use custom attributes to set the format-specific options. As an example, Android Resources (XML) files can have the attribute translatable set to false. Read more...

Screenshots manager

To access the screenshots manager, simply click the Screenshots icon in the key icon menu. Please note, this option is available only to project admins with the Manage screenshots rights. 

Linked

In this tab displayed all screenshots linked to a key. You can perform the following actions:

  • Preview a screenshot
  • Open a screenshot in the screenshot editor
  • Unlink a screenshot from a key

Link existing

Open the Link existing tab to link already uploaded screenshots to a key. This tab allows you to:

  • Sort the keys out e.g. with tags or with linked keys
  • Search a screenshots by name
  • Preview a screenshot
  • Open a screenshot in the screenshot editor
  • Link screenshots to a key one by one or simultaneously

Upload

Upload new screenshots to a key.  Drag and drop screenshots to the drop area or select a file from your computer. 

Did this answer your question?